Menu
Shopify / Shopify Tutorials

How To Close A Shopify Store

close shopify store down

With everything that’s happening in the world, you may be wondering how to close a Shopify store. It doesn’t matter what the reason is, and sometimes the process can seem a little overwhelming. 

Happily, in these times, Shopify offers a few alternatives to closing an online store, because even though it can be hard, you don’t have to lose your progress. 

Let’s take a look at what your options are with a Shopify store, and how to find them!

1. Open Your Settings

In order to see your plan, you will need to go to your store’s settings. You can do that by going to the Dashboard, and then click on “Settings” in the bottom left corner. 

close a shopify store

2. Open Your “Plan and Permissions” Settings

In the “Plan and Permissions, “ you will be able to manage your subscription to Shopify, how many employees have access to the store and what devices you are logged into. 

close a shopify store

3. Select an Option

You will now have three options for your store. As you can see, I’m already in the “Pause and Build” mode, so I only have two options available. I can either activate the “Pause” mode or sell/close my store. 

close a shopify store

Let’s take a look at what these options do and what is the best option for your store. 

  • Pause and Build Mode

The pause and build mode is the best option if your store is still in development or you didn’t have many sales lately. It gives you the possibility of taking a break without having to completely close your Shopify store. 

In this mode, you have full access to your whole store, but your checkout will be unavailable, meaning that you won’t be able to make any sales. At the same time, your normal subscription will stop, and you will go to a basic $9/month plan while you think of your next move. 

  • Pause Mode

In the pause mode, your store will go off the grid, but you won’t lose any of your information. You won’t be able to build it anymore, and you won’t pay a subscription fee, so you have the time to make a plan. 

This is a good option if you’re not sure at the moment on whether you want to go on with your store, if you’re just beginning and it’s not going well, or if you simply want to try a new approach. 

While your store is in Pause mode, your visitors will see a message saying that your store is temporarily closed if they try to access it, but you can still collect emails from them. What’s worth mentioning is the fact that your store can only stay in Pause mode for about three months before going into the “Pause and Build” mode. 

  • Sell or Close 

If you are completely sure you want to close your Shopify store, then you have two options. You can either sell in Shopify’s store marketplace or simply close it. Selling can be a good option if you think you can recover a part of your investment, but if you don’t want anyone using any of your information, then you can go ahead and close it. 

What you need to consider when closing your store:

  1. If you don’t sell it, you will only be able to access it again if you reactivate your subscription.
  2. You won’t be able to create another store with the same name.
  3. Make sure you cancel the subscriptions to all your apps before closing your store, as they may still charge you.
  4. Make sure there are no gift cards left unresolved.
  5. If you bought your domain through Shopify, move it to another provider before closing your store.
  6. If you used a third party domain for your store, make sure to remove it from your Dashboard, as you may not be able to use it anymore.
  7. Any outstanding charges will be billed at the moment you close your store. 

Happily, you have all the tools you need if you want to close a Shopify store. Choose the option that’s best for you and your business!

About Author

As a digital marketer, Andreea also has an incredible passion for photography, so she's here to give you all the information you need on the topic!

No Comments

    Leave a Reply